Supporter guide | Pluckeye

There are currently two kinds of supporters: approvers and inspectors.

Approver guide

As an approver, you have the ability to accept or reject expedite requests made by your approvees. You will see these requests in your queue. When deciding what to accept, use good judgement, but respect the approvee. Most, but not all, expedite requests should be granted. Keep in mind what the user has shared (if anything) in their description about what they want to avoid. Be cautious of overly broad rules. (E.g., allow youtube.com would be too broad for many, but perhaps not all, users.)

An approvee who abuses the approval system should add the noapproval feature to their configuration.

Inspector guide

The approver guide above also applies to inspectors.

There are a few subtleties of the users site of which inspectors should be aware.

An inspector should know the following terms:

Let's look at each of these in depth.

Configuration

A configuration is a set of Pluckeye rules. Configurations are distinct from devices so that multiple devices can share the same configuration.

Every configuration also has a built-in delay. Some actions, such as uninstalling Pluckeye, can only be performed if the delay is 0. Other actions, such as adding newly allowed sites or disabling features, may be performed subject to the delay.

Every configuration has a history. The last 30 days of history can be viewed by clicking the "last changed" link near the top of the configuration page. This is how you can see what changes your inspectee has made to their configuration over time.

Device

A device represents a physical device such as a desktop computer, a laptop, or a smart phone. One user may have many devices.

Every device has either 0 or 1 configuration associated with it. If a device has no configuration associated with it, then the owner of the device has not uploaded their configuration for inspection. It's private. If you are an inspector for somebody else, generally the device configuration should not be private. The person using Pluckeye may need to upload their configuration.

Every device on the users site also has an associated configuration assignment delay. This delay governs how long a Pluckeye user must wait to change which configuration is associated with their device. This is not the same as the delay that governs how long a change to a configuration is delayed. Generally, the delay for a device can and should be very high (e.g., 2 weeks) because users with inspectors should rarely change which configuration is associated with their device.